Flash (er… Drabble) Fiction Challenge: “A Fork in the Road”

This week, Chuck Wendig challenged his readers to write no more than 100 words: http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2015/03/20/flash-fiction-challenge-100-words-only/.  Here’s my contribution (100 words).

A Fork in the Road

I come to a fork in the road. I take a step left. I come to another fork in the road. I take a step right.

But wait, I didn’t like that decision. Can I go back? No, I took a step in the fork of reality. Once I decided, I became stuck in the reality where I chose to step right. Unless I find a way to transfer my consciousness to the reality where I stepped left, I have to live with what I have done.

The next fork in the road: do I drop the knife and run?

Leave a Reply

