Dream: The End Of The World?

This is the first dream I’m recording on my blog.  As I remember dreams, and remember them long enough to get around to blogging them, they will appear in the Dream Journal category.  I’m currently taking a good look at lucid dreaming, something that has happened by accident to me maybe half a dozen times in my life.  For those who know about lucid dreaming, I’m practicing the MILD technique, with prospective memory cues for reality check reminders.

My dreams may also appear in a future short story or novel, as I think they could potentially be good fiction material.  I already have an old dream slated for my upcoming novel (to be completed when I finish writing it).  A short story I hope to complete soon includes the earliest dream I can remember vividly (I was 8 years old when I dreamt it).

Here’s the first installment, and the most recent, dreamt on May 17, 2016.  I’ll add previous dreams that I currently have journaled elsewhere.  Here we go…

I was with some friends and at least one co-worker, coming out of some sort of trade show or conference in a city far from home. My co-worker Michael and I were walking across a road, and I think we might have been looking for a geocache. Ground zero was supposedly a secret NASA announcement plaque, and Michael was insistent that he make the find first. We spotted a tall sign on the opposite side of a ravine about ten feet deep. It looked like a rocket, and had the NASA logo. We went down into the ravine and crossed to the other side for a close look. The slope wasn’t too steep–we had to make a running start to climb the other side.

When we got close enough to read what the plaque said, the sign morphed into a monitor, showing a video. It announced the discovery of a new gas giant planet on the outskirts of the solar system. It was twice the mass of Jupiter and located in the Kuiper Belt past Pluto’s orbit.

At this point Michael left, and I stood there watching the video. The planet was shown to be located in the direction of the Pleiades star cluster. As I looked up in the sky, it darkened, and the Pleiades was prominent right above the sign. As I watched, a new star seemed to appear and brighten. The sky was a bit cloudy, but though the clouds got close to the cluster, they never went in front. Gradually those clouds turned green and arced toward the horizon of the sky.

That’s when the new “star” brightened dramatically, as if the new planet was exploding. It then dimmed, there was a short meteor shower, and the show seemed to be over. The green clouds formed a point toward one direction of the horizon. I decided I should leave, so I tried to climb up the other side of the ravine. I took several running starts, each time not quite making it to the top, and the sandy dirt sinking me back down. Finally, I got to the top, and I was about to walk to the building where the trade show was, as I had my car parked there.

But then the green clouds opened up to reveal a large fireball. It landed several blocks away in a bright flash with a huge orange explosion rising up into the sky. A meteorite impacted. I saw the shock wave approach, so I made a run for it, back into the ravine. Looking for a place to take cover, I passed a blonde woman cowering among some rubble on the ravine floor. Thinking that rubble wouldn’t be enough, I kept running. I spotted a small alcove along the wall of the ravine and headed towards it.

Once I got there, a green wooden door covered the entrance to a cave. It took only a few shoulder checks to break it open, and in I went. The blonde woman seemingly agreed with the inadequacy of that rubble and had been running behind me. She followed me in. We shut the door, and found ourselves in pitch darkness. I thought of using my phone for a flashlight, but decided it would drain the battery too fast. Whenever that shock wave would pass, I wanted to see if I could get a cell signal to call my wife, though I was sure all the cell towers and power would be toast. But yah never know..

I started going back towards the door to see if I could open it a crack and get some light in, but the woman blocked my way. She knew opening the door would mean certain death.  When I turned around to face the cave, it suddenly lit up bright orange. The shock wave and intense fire reached the other side of the cave, revealing a grand entrance adorned with circular columns and triangular stones at the top, like the front of the Greek temple, but from inside. The entrance was about 1/2-mile away on the opposite side of a huge circular cavern.  It looked like a pit mine, but with a thick stone roof.

Fire and embers were penetrating the entrance. The sound was a low rumble with sparks of fiery embers shooting into the cave. Each ember shooting in sounded like gunfire. The entrance seemed to have kept the shock wave at bay, other than the spitting sparks and intense heat. I was afraid of moving into the cave from the door we came through due to the heat and the sparks.

The cave was a large pit with gentle slopes leading down into the cave. The woman had more courage than I did and started descending a slope into a pit on the side. I decided that was probably best, because sooner or later that door we came through would burn and disintegrate. We were trapped in a cave with a firestorm outside.

I wondered how big the meteorite was. Would the devastation reach home? Would my wife survive? I wasn’t sure, but I was sure she would think I was dead once news of the impact reached her. Whenever the fires subsided and cooled, I would have to find a way home, or at least some place I could get word to her. I woke up as I started following the woman down the slope.

Leave a Reply

